The Evolution of the Omagari Hanabi National Fireworks Competition and Fireworks in Japan (the Taisho Period – the Period of Progress)

The Second Ou Six Prefecture Fireworks Competition was held in 1911, and by the time the third one was held in 1913, the number of participants increased to nearly 200. From the fourth competition in 1915, the name of the event was changed to National Fireworks Competition, and the magnitude of the event also rose to the national level. From the end of the Taisho period to the beginning of the Showa period, while many fireworks festivals were canceled due to the economic crisis and bad crop, the fireworks competition was sustained with the help of donations from local business owners and influential people.
1910 – The first competition was conducted as the Ou Six Prefectures Fireworks Competition. In this competition, the participants used fireworks with the diameter of 15cm (5sun *dama). [*sun is a Japanese traditional scale, and 1 sun roughly equals 3cm.]
1912 – The competition was canceled following the death of the Meiji emperor.
1914 – The competition was canceled due to a massive earthquake that occurred in the Kowakubi area.
1915 – The official name of the competition was changed to the National Fireworks Competition.
1927 – Fireworks with the diameter of 60 (2shaku* dama) appeared in the competition for the first time. [*shaku is a Japanese traditional scale, and 1 shaku equals 10sun or roughly 30cm.]
1932–1935 – The competition was canceled due to internal and external instability, such as the Manchurian incident and cool summer damages.
1936 – The competition was relaunched.
1937– 1945 – The competition was canceled again due to war.
1945 – The Pacific War ended.